Two nuclear Free Pacific Treaties – from 1983 and 1985

The Peoples’ Charter for a Nuclear Free and Independent Pacific was signed at an international conference in Vanuatu in 1983.   The NFIP movement brought together indigenous peoples from Hawaii, the Great Turtle Island (North America), Aotearoa, East Timor, West Papua, the Philippines, Polynesians, Kanaks, and others from South Korea and Japan.   The Australian Government did not sign that Charter.

Read the Charter here

In 1985 the  South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty (Commonly called the Treaty of Raratonga, was  signed by the South Pacific nations of Australia, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu on the island of Rarotonga (where the capital of the Cook Islands is located) on 6 August 1985, came into force on 11 December 1986 with the 8th ratification, and has since been ratified by all of those states.

Read the Treaty here.